Hunter River High School

Quality Relationships, Quality Learning

Telephone02 4987 2306

Emailhunterriv-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au

Aboriginal Education

Hunter River High School has a very proactive Aboriginal Education Team. This team focusses on supporting our Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students to reach their full potential in educational, cultural, leadership and future career pursuits.

Smoking ceremony

Hunter River High School hosts a Cultural Room where students can receive tutoring and mentoring support. We also have the "Narralbaa Outdoor Learning Centre", where students can have lessons in a lovely outdoor environment.

Cultural Immersion programs and events play an important part in developing cultural awareness at Hunter River High School. This includes NAIDOC Week, Sorry Day, Harmony Day, Gathang language classes, cultural camps, as well as the HRHS WongaGee Dance Troupe travelling to community events and local schools to perform.

Every student at Hunter River High School has access to a wealth of Aboriginal resources to support their learning.

Community involvement is the key to successful educational outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander students, the Aboriginal Education Team strives to ensure positive relationships are formed with elders and community groups.

 

The HRHS Aboriginal Support Team are:

Aboriginal Education Officer, Mr Brooke Roach - brooke.roach@det.nsw.edu.au

Aboriginal Education Coordinator, Miss Kimbalee Hodges - kimbalee.hodges@det.nsw.edu.au

Aboriginal Student Tutors / Mentors, Mrs Sharon Connell, Mrs Donna Briggsford and Aunty Lyn Slockee sharon.connell@det.nsw.edu.au donna.bgriggsford4@det.nsw.edu.au lynette.slockee1@det.nsw.edu.au 

Aboriginal School Learning Support Officer, Mr Kirran Shearer - kirran.shearer3@det.nsw.edu.au 

Aboriginal 8Ways Staff Support Coordinator: Miss Kimbalee Hodges

Anti-racism Contact Officer, Mr Warwick Rolfe - warwick.rolfe1@det.nsw.edu.au

 

 Outdoor learning area
         

HRHS Cultural Room and Outdoor Learning Area