Hunter River High School logo

Hunter River High School

Hunter River High School

Quality Relationships, Quality Learning

Telephone02 4987 2306

Emailhunterriv-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au

English

Staff

Head Teacher, Mr Steven Friend - steven.friend@det.nsw.edu.au

Miss Rachele Haigh - rachele.haigh1@det.nsw.edu.au

Mrs Heidi Mansfield - heidi.mansfield1@det.nsw.edu.au

Miss Kimbalee Hodges - kimbalee.hodges@det.nsw.edu.au

Mrs Louise Krick - tanya.krick@det.nsw.edu.au

Ms Fiona Lovell - fiona.lovell2@det.nsw.edu.au

Mrs Leza Wheeler - leza.crosdale@det.nsw.edu.au

Miss Sarah Donn - sarah.donn1@det.nsw.edu.au

 

Located:  Next to Room A9, Upper level A Block

 

English study is mandatory in NSW from Kindergarten to Year 12.

In English, students learn about the study and use of the English language in its various textual forms. These encompass spoken, written and visual texts through which meaning is shaped, conveyed, interpreted and reflected. Complexity increases as students progress through their schooling.

Developing proficiency in English enables students to take their place as confident communicators; critical and imaginative thinkers; lifelong learners; and informed, active participants in Australian society. Their understanding of English through knowledge and skills acquisition is essential to their intellectual, social and emotional development.

The study of English should develop a love of literature and learning and be challenging and enjoyable. It develops skills to enable students to experiment with ideas and expression, to become active, independent and lifelong learners, to work with each other and to reflect on their learning.

In Year 11 and 12, the study of English is mandatory. Courses offered include:

  • English Extension 2
  • English Extension 1
  • English Advanced
  • English Standard
  • English Studies
  • English as an Additional Language or Dialect (EAL/D)
  • English Life Skills.