Hunter River High School logo

Hunter River High School

Hunter River High School

Quality Relationships, Quality Learning

Telephone02 4987 2306

Emailhunterriv-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au

Science

Staff

Head Teacher, Mr Mathew Robson - mathew.robson2@det.nsw.edu.au

Mr Warwick Rolfe - warwick.rolfe1@det.nsw.edu.au

Mrs Sally Burr - sally.burr@det.nsw.edu.au

Mr Andrew Abercrombie - andrew.abercrombie@det.nsw.edu.au

Mrs Carolyn Cunningham - carolyn.kennewell3@det.nsw.edu.au

Mr Rob D'Elboux - robert.delboux@det.nsw.edu.au

Mr Harsha De Silva - harsha.desilva@det.nsw.edu.au

Mr Joshua Russell - joshua.russell15@det.nsw.edu.au

Mrs Tanya Steggles (Lab Assistant)

Mr Tony Ziemba (Farm Assistant)

 

Science is mandatory for all students from Year 7 to Year 10.

Science 7-10 provides a way of inquiring about the world around us. It explores evidence and investigates ways to discover, develop and produce solutions to real-world problems. Science emphasises the skills for working scientifically, as well as critical and creative thinking to address scientific issues.

In Years 11 and 12, students can choose from different science disciplines, including:

  • Biology
  • Chemistry
  • Earth and Environmental Science
  • Investigating Science
  • Physics.

In Year 12, students who are studying at least one other science subject may also choose to study Science Extension.

Courses Offered

Years 7-10

Years 7 to 10 Science

Years 8 to 10 Agriculture

Years 9 to 10 Marine Science

Years 11-12

Years 11 and 12 Agriculture

Years 11 and 12 Biology

Years 11 and 12 Chemistry 

Years 11 and 12 Marine Science

Years 11 and 12 Physics

Years 11 and 12 Primary Industries (VET Course)

Years 11 and 12 Senior Science