Hunter River High School logo

Hunter River High School

Hunter River High School

Quality Relationships, Quality Learning

Telephone02 4987 2306

Student support services


Head Teacher, Mrs Kaitlin Abercrombie (relieving)

Gawul IM Senior (Eagle), Mr Troy Hepple -

Mikiri IM Junior (Echidna), Mr Andrew Dinham -

Bikan AU (Platypus), Ms Maddy Winter

Guulu MC (Koala), Ms Liz

Burrang AU (Magpie),  Ms Antonia Gage -

Girriwa MC (Goanna), Mrs Kaitlin Abercrombie –

 Bulgun MC (Wallaby) Ms Charlotte

Djinidjini (Mud Crab) Tutorial Class, Mr Guy

Phoenix Class, Mrs Joslyn Boyd -


Student Learning Support Officers:

Mrs Deb Bottrill

Mrs Di Corrigan

Mr Nathan Finch

Ms Josie Johnson

Mrs Lyn McDonald​

Mrs Toni Piggott

Mrs Courtney Rawlings

Mrs Cath Williams



The SSS Faculty actively plans for the development of knowledge and skills in staff and students. We aim to facilitate programs that link schools with key agencies and community groups, and support students in their transition through school to adulthood as lifelong learners. Our vision is one of teachers, parents and communities "striving together" to provide opportunities for all citizens to achieve active participation in our society.
The SSS Faculty offers programs for students with learning and behaviour difficulties, intellectual disability and other special needs. It provides support in curriculum access, communication, social skills, personal care and safety, mobility, and health care through the development of individual transition, education and behaviour plans.