Hunter River High School

Quality Relationships, Quality Learning

Telephone02 4987 2306

Emailhunterriv-h.school@det.nsw.edu.au

Human society and its environment

Staff

Head Teacher, Mrs Melanie Naylor - melanie.jane.hunt@det.nsw.edu.au

Relieving Head Teacher, Mr Peter Harget - peter.harget2@det.nsw.edu.au

Mr Lucas Winter - lucas.winter@det.nsw.edu.au

Head Teacher Wellbeing,  Mr Jeff Guider - jeffrey.guider@det.nsw.edu.au

Mr Michael Conrad - michael.conrad@det.nsw.edu.au 

Ms Karly Casciaroli - karly.casciaroli@det.nsw.edu.au

Mrs Kerri-ann Dover - kerri-ann.dover@det.nsw.edu.au

Miss Rachel Di Rienzo - rachel.dirienzo2@det.nsw.edu.au

 

Location:  Upstairs B Block

 

In human society and its environment (HSIE), both subjects of history and geography are mandatory from Kindergarten to Year 10.

Students learn specific historical and geographical concepts and skills in history and geography. They also have an opportunity to learn more about people and the societies and environments in which they live through elective subjects in Years 7 to 10 (Stages 4 to 5).

A large number of individual subjects make up the key learning area of HSIE in which students:

  • research, gather and analyse information
  • question and make judgements
  • write for a variety of purposes. 

Courses Offered:

  • Years 7 to 10 Geography
  • Years 7 to 10 History
  • Years 8 to 10 Aboriginal Studies
  • Year 9 and 10 Commerce
  • Year 10 Small Business Course

In Year 11 and 12, students can choose from a range of HSIE courses. These include:

  • Aboriginal Studies
  • Ancient History
  • Business Studies
  • Economics
  • Geography
  • History Extension
  • Legal Studies
  • Modern History
  • Society and Culture
  • Studies of Religion.

 

Subject Outlines:

Year 7 Geography (pdf, 17 KB)

Year 7 History (pdf, 47 KB)

Year 8 Geography (pdf, 17 KB)

Year 8 History (pdf, 45 KB)

Year 9 Geography (pdf, 17 KB)

Year 9 History (pdf, 52 KB)

Year 10 Geography (pdf, 17 KB)

Year 10 History (pdf, 51 KB)